What's the smallest country?

Vatican City is a country within the city of Rome in Italy. It is the smallest independent state in the world, both by square meters and by population; the country has only 842 inhabitants.

---

Vatican City, an enclave of Rome, Italy, is also considered an independent country and the smallest country in the world.