What's in cumber mean?

I think you mean "encumber," which in English means to weigh down, to overload. Example: "The boss ordered each worker to carry 100 pounds, which encumbered the smallest men." It can be used abstractly, too: Example: "The book's writer used too many obscure words to encumber his argument."