Where do chestnuts grow?

Chestnuts can be grown in Zones 5-9 from southern New England and New York west to southern Michigan, south to eastern Texas and north Florida. Try to avoid planting in Zone 4. Chestnuts need at least 100 frost free days from flowering until harvest to fully ripen the nuts.