How many beats does a whole note get?

A whole note is equal to four beats and takes up an entire measure in four-four time. It's equivalent in value to four quarter notes.

---

In a four-four meter, a whole note spans four beats. But the number of beats in a whole note varies in other time signatures. For example, in a twelve-eight meter, a whole note would span eight beats.