Is there such a thing as a saber tooth tiger?

Smilodon, also known as saber-tooth tiger, does not live today, but it did in the past. It is a genus of an extinct subfamily of the Felidae family, extant from about 12 million to less than 10,000 years ago. Modern tigers and other cats belong to other subfamilies of the Felidae family.