What are potato chips made out of?

Potato chips that are fried are made from potatoes, shortening (frying medium); salt and other seasonings; antioxidants; preservatives such as ascorbic acid, sodium phosphate, sodium bisulfite; emulsifiers; and enough added dextrose to control browning of the chips.