How long does it take to train a dog?

It depends on what you wish to teach the dog, the difficulty of the task, and the distraction in the environment. It can be quite easy to teach a dog to sit or heel on cue inside a quiet house, but outside near many sight, sounds, and smells is more difficult. Complex tasks can take years to train.