Are peppers hot?

Depends on the peppers. Capsaicin in peppers causes the spiciness. Peppers are rated on the Scoville scale. Bell peppers score a 0 and usually are are sweet and fruity. The Volcanic Peppers come in at the other end of the spectrum with the bhut jolokia, with a Scoville Rating at 1,000,000 and up.