What is the coldest layer of the atmosphere?

The coldest layer of Earth's atmosphere is the upper edge of the Mesosphere. Temperatures can get to -130 degrees Fahrenheit, -90 Celsius.

---

The coldest layer is the thinnest. It is the ionosphere, starting roughly 50 to 400 miles above Earth's surface. It is the point where the atmosphere of the Earth meets the vacuum of space.