What's the point of the uvula?

During swallowing, the soft palate and the uvula move together to close off the nasopharynx, and prevent food from entering the nasal cavity. It has also been proposed that the amount of thin saliva produced by the uvula serves to keep the throat well lubricated. It has a function in speech as well.