How does a baby breathe in the womb?

The umbilical cord provides a baby with oxygen-rich blood in the womb. The mother also breathes out for the baby, as carbon dioxide from the baby is moved out through the placenta to the mother's blood, then removed when the mother exhales.

---

A fetus can't breathe in the womb. Instead, oxygen is provided by the mother, through the placenta and umbilical cord, into the baby's bloodstream.