What does salt mean?

The acronym S. A. L. T. pronounced, SALT, stands for state & local tax. It is generally associated with income tax deduction for state & local taxes available to taxpayers who itemize their deductions. The latest federal regulations limited it from previous tax rules & is a constant topic.