How many cigarettes does it take to kill you?

According to verywellmind.com There is enough nicotine in five cigarettes to kill an average adult if ingested whole. Most smokers take in an average of 1 to 2 milligrams of nicotine per cigarette, of which 0.03 milligrams is absorbed into the bloodstream.