What was the first noble gas to be discovered?

The first noble gas discovered by Ramsay was argon and the discovery of fluorine by Moissan preceded it by 9 years only. When Ramsay observed the inertness of argon, he sent a sample to Moissan who mixed it with fluorine and passed the reaction mixture through an electric discharge.