Why is it called shampoo?

The word shampoo entered the English language from the Indian subcontinent during the colonial era. It dates to 1762 and is derived from Hindi chāmpo itself derived from the Sanskrit root chapati, which means to press, knead, soothe.

---

The word is derived from the Hindi word chhampo, which means press - to shampoo someone was to massage them. Shampooing was part of the Turkish bath ritual and its meaning evolved to become part of the cleansing process. To shampoo the hair (a verb) was to cleanse and massage the scalp.