What is the origin of break a leg?

In the early theater days, this is where ensemble actors were queued to perform. If actors were not performing, they had to stay behind the leg line, which also meant they wouldn't get paid. If you were to tell the actor to break a leg, you were wishing them the opportunity to perform and get paid.