What is the broadway show rent?

Rent is a rock musical with music, lyrics, and book by Jonathan Larson, loosely based on Giacomo Puccini's opera La Bohème.It's the story of a group of impoverished young artists struggling to survive and create in the East Village in the bohemian Alphabet City, under the shadow of HIV AIDS.