When was modern time invented?

Our modern timekeeping regime was born at the end of the 19th century. Scottish-Canadian engineer Sandford Fleming promoted the idea of unifying worldwide time by following a single clock. His global timekeeping system, Greenwich Time, was officially adopted by diplomats at the 1884 conference.