Why do police officers wear blue?

Officers wear blue for many reasons. 1. it is much easier to clean and maintain and it shows stains and marks less easily, 2. it makes an officer harder to see at night, making it easier for them to sneak up on bad guys, 3. the colour subconsciously evokes feelings of comfort and security in people