How far up or satellites?

There are essentially three types: high, medium, and low Earth orbits. Many weather and some communications satellites tend to have a high Earth orbit, farthest away from the surface. A geosynchronous orbit is a high narrow band orbit at 35786 kilometers and its satellites seem to remain stationary.