What is baking soda do in a recipe?

Baking soda is a powder that allows recipes to rise. It is best used in recipes with acidic ingredients (vinegar, citrus, sour dairy, chocolate, cocoa , honey, brown sugar). Baking soda starts to react and release carbon dioxide gas as soon as it is added, so you should bake soon after adding.