How many grams of sugar should a person have a day?

The American Heart Association recommends most American women eat to no more than six teaspoons or 20 grams of sugar a day. The American Heart Association recommends most American Men eat to no more than nine teaspoons or 36 grams of sugar a day. one teaspoon is equal to four grams of sugar.