Is iceland part of the e. u.?

Iceland is a member of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), a grouping of four non-EU European countries, and is also part of the European Economic Area (EEA). Iceland is a member of the Nordic Passport Union and the Schengen Area, which now is under EU law, as a non-voting participant.