What's the definition of passivity?

acceptance of what happens, without active response or resistance. "the perceived passivity of the populace is deceptive" CHEMISTRY the state of inactivity of a metal made unreactive by a thin inert surface layer of oxide. "nickel increases the overall passivity of the iron"