How did ellis island get its name?

Ellis Island got it's name from the owner Samuel Ellis. he was a butcher and owned the Island during the 1780's.

---

Long before it became a way station for people looking for a new beginning, Ellis Island—named for its last private owner, Samuel Ellis—was known as a place where condemned prisoners met their end.