Can water go stale?

Stored water does not expire, but water that has been unsealed may absorb carbon dioxide, worsening it's taste. It is recommended that opened water bottles be consumed within three days. Defining "stale" as "no longer fresh and pleasant to consume", it is possible for water to be considered stale.