What is a golden bowfin?

Bowfin are a type of freshwater fish native to North America. The species is relatively common in slow-moving, vegetated waters of the eastern and southern United States. A golden variety has a genetic mutation called xanthochromism, where pigments in the animal are replaced with yellow pigments.

---

The bowfin is a bony fish, native to North America. Common names include mudfish, mud pike, dogfish, grindle, grinnel, swamp trout, and choupique. The Golden Bowfin is a variant of the larger family of Bowfin and is consonisdered rare.