Is buttermilk acidic?

The pH scale ranges from 0 to 14, with 0 being the most acidic. Cow's milk has a pH of 6.7–6.9, compared with 4.4–4.8 for buttermilk. Modern buttermilk is a cultured, fermented dairy product.