Where did the term peter out come from?

In this expression, 'peter' is derived from saltpeter (potassium nitrate), a component of explosives. Miners nicknamed these explosives 'peter,' and used them to expose veins of gold or other valuable minerals. When a vein was exhausted and yield no more ore, it was said to have been 'petered out.