What happens when you add salt to boiling water?

Adding salt to water raises the boiling temperature by a very, very small amount so at sea level, salted water will boil at 212 °F. With each 500-foot increase in elevation, the boiling point is lowered by just under 1 °F. For example, at 7,500 feet water boils at about 198 °F.