What's the difference between college and university?

A smaller institution, that usually offers undergraduate degrees, is considered a college. In contrast, an institution that offers both undergraduate and graduate degrees, is considered a university. They offer undergraduate programs that will lead a student towards a master's degree or a doctorate.

---

A university has students working for degrees higher than college degrees and also faculty and staff engaged in activities other than education, such as research.

---

You start at college and finish at a university. Colleges teach up to the first 4 years and universities go further.