When was lord mountbatten assassinated?

Mountbatten became governor (1965) and then lord lieutenant (1974) of the Isle of Wight. Mountbatten was assassinated in 1979 by Provisional Irish Republican Army terrorists who planted a bomb in his boat. Source: Britannica.com