Who is general mead?

George Meade (12/31/1815 – 11/6/1872) was an American Civil War Union general. A Mexican War veteran, he rose to command the Army of the Potomac. At Gettysburg, he defeated Gen. Lee's Army. He served well throughout the war including at Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, and Appomattox.