What is shellfish mean?

A shell is the hard protective outer case of a mollusk or crustacean. So a shellfish is an animal with a shell - a mollusk or crustacean. Some examples of shellfish would be clams, mussels, oysters, shrimp, lobster, crab, or scallops.