Are there anteaters in the united states?

Silky anteaters and northern tamanduas extend their ranges as far north as southeastern Mexico, while giant anteaters can be found as far north as Central America. ... Anteaters were confined to South America, which was formerly an island continent, during most of the Cenozoic Era.