When did fidel castro take over in cuba?

Fidel Castro became Prime Minister of Cuba on February 16th, 1959.

---

After Batista's overthrow in 1959, Castro assumed military & political power as Cuba's Prime Minister. The USA came to oppose Castro's government and unsuccessfully attempted to remove him by assassination, economic blockade, and counter-revolution, including the Bay of Pigs Invasion of 1961.