What is the world record for the fastest marathon?

The I A A F recognizes a Kenyan, Eliud Kipchoge, as having set a new world record for men, of 2 hours, 1 minute and 39 seconds, on September 16 2018, at the 2018 Berlin Marathon. His October 2019 record of under 2 hours was impressive, but was not run as part of an official race.

---

On October 13th 2019, in a misty park in Vienna, Eliud Kipchoge ran a marathon in less than two hours. His time, 1:59:40, is the fastest any runner has ever covered 26.2 miles. Kipchoge carved two minutes off his own world record and became the first marathoner to break the two-hour barrier.