What is the world record for the fastest marathon?

The I A A F recognizes a Kenyan, Eliud Kipchoge, as having set a new world record for men, of 2 hours, 1 minute and 39 seconds, on September 16 2018, at the 2018 Berlin Marathon. His October 2019 record of under 2 hours was impressive, but was not run as part of an official race.