How did the rock become the scorpion king?

The Rock became the scorpion king after going through an motion capture. A group of VFX animators did everything they could with the resources available for the low budget sequel to the mummie; In the 2000s CGI and digital rotoscoping were in a stage of experimentation and this movie is an example