Who did frederick douglass debate?

Often confused with escaped slave, abolitionist, activist, writer and orator Frederick Douglass, it was Senator Stephen A. Douglas, a member of the Democratic Party, who debated Abraham Lincoln, the Republican Party candidate in a series of seven debates during the 1848 Ilinois senatorial campaign.