Where did the expression cats have nine lives come from?

Historians believe that the origin of cats having nine lives comes from Egyptian mythology. Their sun god Ra gave birth to eight other gods, making 9 gods in one. Ra often took the form of a cat, and thus the idea of the nine lives of cat took form.