How long ago was star wars made?

The original Star Wars movie, Episode IV, A New Hope, was released in May 1977.

---

The original Star Wars was released in 1977. Originally it did not include Episode IV in the scroll. The scroll itself was a legal issue, as up until then credits for production and cast were required before the actual movie started.