What is yo kai mean?

Yōkai ( 妖怪, "strange apparition") are a class of supernatural entities and spirits in Japanese folklore. The word 'yōkai' is composed of the kanji for "attractive; calamity" and "apparition; mystery; suspicious." Yōkai are also referred to as ayakashi (あやかし), mononoke (物の怪) or mamono (魔物).