How big is the biggest spider ever?

The world's largest known spider is a male goliath bird-eating spider. While the Goliath birdeater is definitely the world's largest spider by weight, it is the Giant Huntsman spider that takes the award for being the largest by diameter. The lanky arachnids have a leg span of up to 12-inches.