Is a stop sign an octagon?

Yes, a stop sign has 8 sides. It is an octagon.

---

By mathematical definition, an octagon is an 8 sided 2-D shape. A stop sign, technically, is not 2-D, so it is not an octagon. A stop sign is 3-D, and has 10 faces. We could consider only the front face of a stop sign, which would be an octagon.