How many people are struck by lightening per year?

In 2018 there were 20 direct lightning fatalities, up from 16 in 2017 which was lowest since record-keeping began in 1941. From 2009 to 2018 on average 27 people died each year from lightning strikes in the US, according to the National Weather Service. Hundreds more are struck each year but live.