What happens when you mix water and oil?

Water & Oil do not mix. They are two different compounds with diffrent densities so both liquids will separate, with the oil floating in its own layer.

---

Oils are hydrophobic, or “water fearing.” Instead of being attracted to water molecules, oil molecules are repelled by them. As a result, when you add oil to a cup of water the two don’t mix with each other. Because oil is less dense than water, it will always float on top of water creating a layer.