What is a hurricane?

A hurricane is a particular type of tropical storm known as a cyclone. Once a tropical cyclone has wind speeds of 74 miles per hour it is classified as a hurricane. Hurricanes are given a 'category' number from 1 to 5 based on their sustained wind speeds. One is the weakest and five the strongest.