How long have mosquitoes been on earth?

Mosquitoes have been found trapped in tree amber dating to more than 100 million years ago. The oldest mosquito-type insect trapped in amber is an ancient species named Burmaculex antiquus. Scientists suspect mosquitoes first evolved over 200 million years ago.