Who won the first olympic gold medal for swimming?

Alfréd Hajós of Hungary was the first man to win an Olympic gold medal in swimming at the 1896 Olympics held in Athens, Greece. Sarah 'Fanny' Durack was an Irish-Australian swimmer - the first woman to win an Olympic swimming medal in the 1912 Olympics held in Stockholm, Sweden.