What kind of material is modale?

Modal fabric is a super soft fiber made from beech trees. In clothing you often see it combined with cotton and spandex. It is considered a semi-synthetic because the raw material, cellulose, is a natural material which is then turned into fiber using an environmentally-friendly chemical process.